Total Recipe Success: Garlic-Parsley Fries with Aioli

fries

It’s not often that I turn out a perfect product, but..these garlic fries were amazing. The side of garlic aioli just added to the odiferous goodness. Not only were they yummy, but they’re actually pretty healthy–3 tbsp of oil, and then baked in the oven for 20 minutes. Tastes exactly like the real thing. The aioli’s pretty unhealthy (egg and a bucket of olive oil), though, so it doesn’t get to go in the picture.

Christine, I miss WRWF! Hope you and Thor are cooking up a storm.

2 thoughts on “Total Recipe Success: Garlic-Parsley Fries with Aioli

  1. lisa

    Mmm, those look fabulous and your description is mouth-watering! If you’d be willing to share the recipe, I’m sure I’d not be the only grateful friend. 🙂

    Reply
  2. apricot Post author

    Garlic Fries!
    -1 large russet potato (you could use 2, but trust me; one russet makes a LOT of fries)
    -3-5 cloves of garlic, minced (3 for light garlic flavor, more for intensity. I think I put in 5 or 6)
    -3-5 tbsp olive oil (adjust to taste/diet reqs)
    -salt to taste
    -1-3 tbsp fresh chopped Italian parsley

    Preheat oven to 450. Heat garlic and oil; strain garlic from oil.

    Cut potato into sticks (you can do thin or thick ones as you like). Toss sticks in a bowl with oil and salt. Spray cooking sheet w/spray and spread potato sticks in one layer on it.

    Bake for 20-35 min. Time will depend on the thickness of your sticks and desired crispiness level. I like them kind of squishy in the center so I baked them for about 25 min. You may want to rotate the sheet once or twice as the fries in the back of the oven get burned easily.

    Toss fries in bowl with garlic, parsley, and salt to taste.

    Garlic Aioli
    (I took this from a food network recipe): http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,1977,FOOD_9936_6049,00.html

    I found the aioli a little bit too strong for my taste. I think it had to do with the natural tanginess of uncooked garlic. But it was still basically tasty and Mr. P liked it a lot.

    Let me know if you make it, and how it turns out! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

