Center stage 2!!

As I was standing in the hallway of my ballet studio last night, I glanced at the bulletin board and saw…drumroll…an audition announcement for CENTER STAGE 2!!!

Center Stage was in no way a good film. But it was high camp with pretty pretty ballerinas…who could resist? I spent many a snowy evening at Dartmouth huddled in my room watching dance melodrama with friends. For me, there’s more than a little nostalgia involved in Center Stage. Despite such gems as “I’m the best goddamn dancer in the American Ballet Academy! Who the hell are you?! Nobody!”, the movie had heart…even if that heart was sparkly with wee prancing unicorns inside it.

Naturally, the sequel will be awful; but you know you’re going to see it. Resistance is futile.

***update***

I checked the board again and it looks like Peter Gallagher and Ethan Stiefel will be reprising their roles in Center Stage 2. They’re casting for two female characters (one nice, one snob) and one young man. I think it will be pretty similar to the first film; a girl with “heart”, and an uppity chick (Maureen in the first; they’re calling her “Suzanne” in this movie).

24 thoughts on “Center stage 2!!

  1. apricot Post author

    Indeed not. Camp makes happiness!

    And Lindy, I’m glad I did; and you’ll be glad I did too. At least it wasn’t “Save the Last Dance” or “Step it Up.” Center Stage is QUALITY.

    Reply
  2. Kelly

    I actually just saw them filming this today, one of the dance scenes. It actually looks really good. I only saw them shooting the a dream dance sequence. The girl who plays the lead isn’t a professional but she did dance when she was younger (I asked)her name is Rachel Smith. The Guy dances professionally and I only got his name, Kenny, supposidly he used to dance in Alberta or BC.

    Reply
  3. apricot Post author

    wow, Kelly, lucky you! Thanks for commenting, btw.

    I’m surprised that they got into filming so quickly. The audition notice had extended through October, I thought. Well, the sooner the film is done, the sooner we get to see it. Hurrah. 🙂

    I wonder who this Kenny fella is…

    Reply
  4. lisa

    so i know who’s playing the snobby chick. her name is Kirsten Wicklund and she danced with me at Goh Ballet Academy (Vancouver) and Danzmode Productions (Burnaby) shes a crazy dancer – won NYCDA junior champion and everything. GO KIRSTEN GO!

    Reply
  5. Victoria

    Hey Kelly, could you tell me where you saw them filming? And also, is Kenny the main character of the movie? Anyone know the full cast and crew? PLEASE let me know!

    Reply
  6. Jen Wright

    They have been filming at The Wild Coyote Club in Vancouver for a few days now. {My boyfriend is an extra} But as usual with films there will be many more locations I’m sure.

    Reply
  7. anonymous

    Kenny is a professional dancer. He was on a tv show called Dancelife and just finished touring with Justin Timberlake on his world tour. he also teaches master classes occasionally

    Reply
  8. Victoria

    Yeah, I totally blanked and forgot to tell you guys what that anonymous person just said about Kenny. He’s amazing; and even though I haven’t watched the movie yet, it’s already my favorite movie just because he’s in it. He’s AMAZING. Watch out for him; he’ll take your breath away. ☺

    Reply
  9. Victoria

    Yeah, I’ve seen that, Sandra. Kenny looks gorgeous there. =) And Chris, that site doesn’t seem to be working. Or is it just my internet being weird?

    Reply
  10. Hannie

    Center stage was grap bt da second one will be good cos it’s got da best dude in da world and dancer and great friend of mine my home boy KENNY WORMALD in it he plays tommy henerson i think a dude called tommy!!

    Reply
  11. Idina

    who is that nicole munez girl… she looks pretty damn young to me but oh well. Does anybody know anything about her?

    Reply
  12. Liza

    Not that I’m totally impressed, but this is a lot more than I expected for when I found a link on Digg telling that the info here is awesome. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

